

## Accrediting Commission for Schools Western Association of Schools and Colleges

## COMMISSION MEMBERS

ODIE J. DOUGLAS, Ed.D. Chairperson Association of California School Administrators

LINDA NORMAN, Ed.D. Vice Chairperson Western Catholic Educational Association

CUAUHTEMOC AVILA, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

JANICE BLABER Hawaii Government Employees' Association

DANNY BLAS California Teachers Association

MOOHAY CHOE, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

KEVIN COLLINS, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

JEFF DAVIS, Ed.D. California Association of Independent Schools

GREGORY DHUYVETTER Western Catholic Educational Association

LEE DUNCAN, Ed.D. Association of Christian Schools International

TOBY ELMORE California Association of Private School Organizations

KRISTIE FLOHRA National Lutheran School Accreditation

ANDREA FUKUMOTO Hawaii State Department of Education

ANNA-LISA GEORGE Western Catholic Educational Association

CAROL GREEN California Congress of Parents and Teachers, Inc. (PTA)

MELISSA HANDY Hawaii Private Teacher

GREGORY HEDGER, Ed.D. East Asia Regional Council of Schools

ESTHER KANEHAILUA Hawaii State Department of Education

KARIN "KALENA" D. HANSEN DEL REY Hawaii State Teachers Association

CINDY KAZANIS

California Department of Education

CHRISTINE MCCORMICK, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

MONIQUE MCWAYNE California Department of Education

ERIC MOONEY, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

CHRISTOPHER OASE, D.A. California School Boards Association

JENNIFER OWENS Postsecondary Education

ANDREW RODRIGUEZ California Federation of Teachers

JASON SAMPLE Charter Schools

TERESA SCHWABAUER Western Catholic Educational Association

DAVID SCIARRETTA, Ed.D. Charter Schools

LAURA STEFANSKI Public Member, California

K. ERIK SWANSON, Ph.D. Pacific Islands

KATHERINE THOROSSIAN, Ed.D. Association of California School Administrators

BERIT VON POHLE, Ed.D. Pacific Union Conference of Seventh-day Adventists

LIVINGSTON (JACK) WONG Public Member, Hawaii May 3, 2024

Breanne Aguiar, Principal Denair High School 3460 Lester Road Denair, California 95316

Dear Breanne Aguiar:

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC) announces the action taken at the Spring 2024 Commission Meeting. The ACS WASC Commissioners have determined Denair High School (9-12) meets the ACS WASC criteria for accreditation. This accreditation status is based on all of the information provided by the school, including the school's report, and the satisfactory completion of the accreditation visit.

It is the decision of the Commission to grant six-year accreditation status through June 30, 2030 with a mid-cycle visit during the 2026-2027 school year.

Denair High School is required to prepare an in-depth progress report for the mid-cycle visit. The report and visit should demonstrate that the school has: 1) addressed the growth areas for continuous improvement through the schoolwide action plan; 2) made appropriate progress on the implementation of the schoolwide action plan; and 3) improved student achievement relative to the schoolwide learner outcomes and the academic standards.

Accreditation status is conditioned upon Denair High School's continued adherence with the ACS WASC policies, procedures, and criteria for accreditation. This includes a requirement that an accredited school annually contribute members to participate on visiting committees. Failure to maintain compliance with said policies, procedures, and standards is grounds for modification and/or withdrawal of the accreditation.

The Commission looks forward to Denair High School's anticipated success and continuing improvement in keeping with ACS WASC's pursuit of excellence in elementary, secondary, and adult education.

Sincerely,

Odie J. Douglas, Ed.D. Commission Chairperson

Odie J. Douglas

cc: Terry Metzger, Graciela Hinojosa